ATTENTION: Due to Juneteenth National Independence Day, WCTFCU offices will be CLOSED Wednesday, June 19, 2024.


The Credit Union was established in 1949 by fifty Washington County educators.  For many years, volunteers operated the Credit Union from their homes.  In 1979, the Credit Union opened its first dedicated office space in a trailer on the bus lot of the Board of Education.  The Williamsport branch opened in April 2005 and the CES branch opened in May of 2014.  In 2015 the Credit Union purchased a condo within the Meridian building on Leitersburg Pike.  In September 2016 the original office space closed and the main office relocated to the Meridian building.

Membership in WCTFCU continues to be limited to employees of the Washington County Public Schools and their immediate family members as well as employees of Hagerstown Community College and their immediate family members.   

WCTFCU is a non-profit financial institution organized to serve the financial needs of all its member owners.  The net earnings are returned to the members in the form of lower interest rates charged on loans, higher interest rates paid on share accounts, lower service fees, and expanded services.

The Credit Union Difference

  • You are a member-owner of the Credit Union.
  • The Credit Union Board of Directors and Committee members are volunteers.
  • Any additional income the Credit Union achieves from your participation goes right back to you in the form of better rates and lower fees, especially when compared to banks.
  • WCTFCU focuses on member service, instead of profit.
  • The Board of Directors is voted on and elected at the Annual Meeting each year.  Every member gets one vote.